FAQs on Licensure
Supervision and New Rules
QUESTION: If someone has nearly finished the required 4000 hours of supervised experience, or has completed at least 3000 hours prior to the new Rules coming into effect, but had only one supervisor, how is this considered?
ANSWER: If the applicant has 500 or more hours yet to complete as of February 1, 1997, they should get a second supervisor in order to meet the requirements for licensure. (February 1997 Board meeting.)
QUESTION: How much supervised practice must be obtained from a second supervisor? ANSWER: This requirement refers to individual, face to face supervision. A minimum of 500 hours practice must be supervised by each of two individual supervisors (not in group). (May 1997 and August 1998 Board meetings)
QUESTION: Is it acceptable for an applicant to obtain more than 2000 hours of supervision post-degree, or all supervision post-degree?
ANSWER: Supervision may be obtained pre or post degree. A minimum of 2000 hours of supervised practice must be completed after the degree is obtained.
QUESTION: I have completed my degree however I will not be formally graduated for several months. Can I begin counting my supervision as post degree?
Taking the Exam
QUESTION: Is it possible to take the examination after graduation but before all of the required post-degree hours of supervised practice have been completed? ANSWER: An applicant will be allowed to sit for the examination if at the time the application is reviewed the candidate is within 300 hours of the 4000 hours requirement. (May 1997 Board meeting).
QUESTION: What is the procedure regarding reactivation of previously submitted applications?
ANSWER: An candidate whose application was received more than a year ago needs to reapply. The application will then be considered by the Board as a new application. If the applicant is currently licensed as a psychologist in another jurisdiction, he or she may apply for licensure by endorsement. In either case, the applicant must reapply if the previous application was received more than a year ago. The new application must include 3 current letters of reference, documentation of 4000 hours of post-degree supervision, and if applying for licensure by endorsement, verification of current state licensure. If transcripts are in the file, new transcripts are not needed. (October 1997)
Upgrading of Licensure
QUESTION: How may I upgrade from Psychologist-Master to Psychologist- Doctorate?
ANSWER: Two issues need to be clarified in order to respond to this question: the date of the degree and the length of time an individual has been in practice as a Masters level psychologist. If your Doctorate was obtained in the same continuous program as your Master's degree, you must obtain 2000 hours of supervised practice following completion of the Doctorate degree prior to licensure. If, however, you have practiced psychology as a Master level psychologist for at least one year and began the Doctoral program subsequently, you may be able to qualify for an upgrade without a further requirement for 2000 hours of post degree supervision. (March 1998 Board meeting.)
QUESTION: If you are a psychologist licensed in Vermont, do you have to provide disclosure information to clients from another state?
ANSWER: Vermont State law requires all Vermont licensed psychologists when practicing in Vermont to provide the disclosure to all clients. (January 1997 Board meeting.)
QUESTION: Are psychologists who are part of a private practice group (a partnership or a corporation) exempted from the disclosure requirement, as psychologists who practice in institutions are?
ANSWER: No. Psychologists employed by or belonging to a private practice or managed care group (even if it is a corporation) are still considered to be independently practicing and, therefore, subject to the disclosure requirement. Employees or persons under contract with an institution which is under the oversight of a governmental agency are exempt and only need to inform people that the information is available upon request. (January 1997 Board meeting.)
QUESTION: Do you give the disclosure only to new clients or everyone, including previous clients?
ANSWER: Vermont law requires psychologists to disclose to both current and new clients within three visits. (January 1997 Board meeting.)
QUESTION: Regarding the disclosure of supervised experience, do we disclose only the 4,000 hours required for licensure, or do we also include any additional supervision received since becoming licensed and special training supervision?
ANSWER: This is in the discretion of the psychologist. One can refer to all three, but it is not mandated. Psychologists should refer to the Rules which are specific about what one must include at a minimum. (February 1997 Board meeting.)
QUESTION: Section (d) states: When the client is not able to understand the disclosure, as in the case of a minor or an adult who is under the supervision of guardian, the disclosure shall be made to a suitable parent or guardian. What if no guardian has been appointed?
ANSWER: If guardianship application has been made, the disclosure should be to the person named in the petition. If the guardianship petition is contested or soon to be awarded, wait; or have the client sign and then subsequently, if a guardian of appointed, have the guardian sign. (February 1997 Board meeting.)
QUESTION: Is the Certificate of professional Qualification (CPQ) offered by the Association of State and Provincial Psychology Boards (ASPPB) accepted for licensure as a psychologist in Vermont?
ANSWER: YES. If verification of your CPQ is received directly from ASPPB.
QUESTION: If I apply for licensure using my CPQ, what other documentation is required?
ANSWER: If applying using CPQ, you must also submit an application, the application fee, a copy of your vita (resume), and three letters of recommendation (including one from a psychologist who has supervised you work). Please also request verification of your current unconditioned licensure as a psychologist in another jurisdiction to be sent directly to this Office.